Leading Cannabis MSB I Most Trusted Cannabis News Source I Est. 2013

Full News Story

Connecticut Has Robust First Day of Adult-Use Sales

BB DZ Art 155 Legislators Adjust Mold Regulations for Medical Marijuana in Connecticut Banner 070622

With legal adult-use cannabis sales finally happening in Connecticut, we’re already seeing incredibly positive numbers after the first few days of sale. Here’s how it went.

The First Day Of Sales

On January 10, 2023, the legal sale of adult-use cannabis in Connecticut commenced, and what a day it was. 

Adults 21 years and older lined up at seven different dispensaries to be some of the first people in the state to get their hands on legally sold cannabis. 

Over $250,000 in cannabis sales have been reported on the first day alone. The brand-new industry is expected to bring in over $73 million in state revenue by 2026.

Another benefit of the legalization of cannabis sales is that over 43,000 convictions of low-level cannabis possession convictions have been erased, allowing the people who were previously convicted to get back to their normal lives without worrying about having a cannabis conviction on their records.

Governor Ned Lamont described the day as a “turning point in the injustices caused by the war on drugs,” saying that Connecticut residents now have a safe, legal alternative to the otherwise dangerous and unsafe illegal cannabis market.

The First Day Of Sales

What Can You Buy In Connecticut?

At the moment, sale limits and restrictions are pretty straightforward. Each person is allowed to purchase ¼ ounce of cannabis flower, or its equivalent, per transaction. This limit also includes edibles like standard-sized brownies/cookies containing the equivalent of 0.08g of THC, seven pre-rolled cigarettes weighing 1 gram each, or 14 pre-rolled cigarettes weighing 0.5 grams each.

These limits will be reviewed over time as sales continue and more and more dispensaries start opening, and people start buying.

Where Can You Buy In Connecticut?

Connecticut residents have a few different options of hybrid dispensaries to choose from when looking to purchase recreational cannabis.

  • RISE in Branford
  • The Botanist in Danbury 
  • Zen Leaf in Meriden
  • The Botanist in Montville
  • Affinity in New Haven
  • Fine Fettle Dispensary in Newington
  • Fine Fettle Dispensary in Stamford
  • Fine Fettle Dispensary in Willimantic

Since sales have only been up for a little over a week, you can expect long queues of people lining up to get their hands on the now-legal products. (Read more on cannabis legalization in America here.)

Before visiting a dispensary, look up the dispensary’s live menu on their website so you can pre-order your items before arriving at the store. This is especially recommended if it’s your first time in a dispensary. 

Recreational buyers will need to provide legal identification that they’re older than 21 years of age. At the moment, all dispensaries are either accepting cash only or debit cards and cash. Recreational users will pay a sales tax of 20% on every purchase they make, while medicinal patients aren’t subject to this sales tax.

What Can You Buy In Connecticut?

Enjoyed that first hit? Come chill with us every week at the Friday Sesh for a freshly packed bowl of the week’s best cannabis news!

Share On Social
Sign Up For The Friday Sesh

Submit Your News Below